recipe: vegan pancakes

IMG_1601

My boyfriend has been nothing short of amazing as he’s been home everyday taking care of our adopted chihuahua, Stitch. So, I thought I’d make him breakfast one morning to brighten up his weekend after a long week of little rest with the pup!

After Googling a bit, I found a pretty low-ingredient, easy pancake recipe from Food.com here.

Yields: 6-8 pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar (unlike the author, I just used white sugar I had lying around)
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup soymilk (I used almond milk as the boyfriend is allergic to soymilk)
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil (had to use olive oil as I did not have vegetable oil)

Directions:

  1. Set out all your ingredients.
  2. Set a stove element with a pan to medium heat.
  3. Combine the 4 dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder — two Tablespoons, not two Teaspoons as some have suggested, salt) in a bowl.
  4. Add the soy milk and vegetable oil to your mixture.
  5. Mix until smooth.
  6. Now the pan should be ready for your batter, so spoon one pancakes’ worth of the mixture into the pan.
  7. Flip [carefully] when you see bubbles in the middle of the pancake, or if the edges are looking stiffened.
  8. Note: You have to keep stirring that batter because it changes consistency while sitting there! 
  9. Repeat until the batter is gone, and try not to eat them all while you’re cooking them.

I topped mine with some slivered almonds and chopped up bananas, which made it all the better.  Other toppings I like include berries, apple with cinnamon, chocolate chips, etc. You really can do so much with pancakes!

These pancakes came out pretty decent. I find that most vegan pancakes are just not as fluffy as non-vegan ones. They seem … wet oddly. My boyfriend ate a majority of the pancakes and loved them so I would definitely utilize this recipe again (after maybe experimenting with a few others I find around the internet).

With that, remember always: Diet Tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “recipe: vegan pancakes

Leave a Reply

