recipe: plain rice congee

I have been sick lately and therefore, why the lack of posts. My mother recently made me some plain rice congee (we call it “jook”) to calm my stomach and help me feel better.

It’s just rice, water and salt. It’s amazing because you can add whatever you want to it. I like extra white pepper, scallions, and cilantro in mine normally. My parents often add thousand year old eggs and chicken or ribs into it (obviously my parents aren’t vegan).

It really helps warm you up and make you feel better. Enjoy mother’s simple recipe.

Ingredients:

9 Cups of Water

3/4 Cups of Rice

Salt / Soy Sauce

Directions:

  1. Cook the rice in the water until it’s at a boil.
  2. Then put the heat on a medium setting while lifting the top off a bit so it can let some steam out.
  3. After about an hour and the rice water mixture looks like a porridge, add salt and soy sauce to your liking.
  4. Add any additional toppings as you’d like.
  5. Serve and feel better!
2 thoughts on “recipe: plain rice congee

Leave a Reply

