restaurant review: chipotle

photo 1www.chipotle.com

Last night, my friend was having a hankering for Chipotle so off we went. The line snaked around the store which was a bit ridiculous. However, we opted to stay since the line usually goes pretty quickly and also, I saw they finally had SOFRITAS on the menu!

photo 2Sofritas is their “vegan-friendly” option which includes shredded organic tofu braised with chipotle chilis, roasted poblanos and a blend of armoatic spices. Therefore, I had to try it.

photo 3Here is a picture of my full bowl. It was the burrito bowl with black beans, fajita vegetables, sofritas, cilantro lime brown rice, guacamole (which is extra with the sofritas, not free like with the veggies option), corn salsa, tomato salsa, green tomatillo salsa, and romaine lettuce on top.

Trust me, you don’t need sour cream and cheese to make Chipotle delicious. You can go vegan and it’s amazing.

photo 4Close up.

photo 5Close up of the sofritas.

At first, I was nervous ordering the sofritas because it looked like ground turkey. Then, when I ate it, it tasted like ground meat. It was such a hearty chewy texture. It was slightly creepy because I kept thinking, “Are you sure this isn’t chicken?!”

I highly recommend Sofritas to anyone trying to transition. Also, for the first time in years, I couldn’t finish my whole bowl. I ate about 2/3 of it and I was holding my stomach because it was just too filling!

Food rarely defeats me but I’m glad that this was that good. I’ll definitely be coming back more. Thank you, Chipotle for thinking of the vegans!

Tip: Skip the line. Order your meal on the Chipotle app or on their webpage!

2 thoughts on “restaurant review: chipotle

Leave a Reply

