Restaurant Review: Candle 79 in New York City

IMG_9226154 E. 79th Street, New York, NY
http://www.candle79.com/

I seriously have amazing people in my life. My good friend, Kevin decided to surprise me with dinner at Candle 79 for my birthday! I had been wanting to go for over years now but just never got to.  I think I squealed when I heard we were going and I informed him that being there made me feel like a kid in a candy store. I just wanted to try it all and the excitement was clearly written all over my face.

IMG_9230Compliments of the chef, we had fried plantains with guacamole.
I am usually very picky about my guacamole but this was delicious and the chips were crispy. The guacamole had just the right amount of cilantro, which I love!

IMG_9231For an appetizer, we shared the Grilled Seitan Chimichurri with horseradish cream and red pepper coulis.
It had an amazing grilled flavor. It was actually really filling also. Would definitely have this again and the sauce was delicious.

IMG_9232For my entree, I had the Wild Mushroom-Squash Risotto with cashew cream, pumpkin seeds, fresh herbs and frizzled leeks.
Wow. I was stuffing this into my face it was so good. I cannot seem to make risotto right so I was jumping for joy when I saw this on the menu especially with my favorite things in the world: mushrooms and squash.
My friend also was a huge fan of this dish.

IMG_9235For dessert, we split the Mexican Chocolate Brownie with caramelized bananas, french vanilla ice cream, candied pecans and a chocolate-ancho sauce.
I love chocolate and this dessert definitely pleased. My mouth was covered in chocolate afterwards because I couldn’t be bothered to clean myself up after each bite.  I’d love to try their other desserts but I think each time I go back, I will definitely be drawn to this one. I am a huge chocolate fanatic.

All throughout dinner, we had an amazing view of the first snowfall of this season:

IMG_9229
Afterwards, I was surprised with tickets to see Fuerza Brute (Brute Force en espanol).
The show was amazing. Pictures below.

IMG_9241

IMG_9249

IMG_9255

IMG_9260

IMG_9261Huge thanks to Kevin for a great birthday celebration!

4 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: Candle 79 in New York City

  1. I’ve heard about this place, and would love to go sometime. I’ll get there one of these days, but it might take me years to get there too! That Wild Mushroom-Squash Risotto looks AMAZING! Happy birthday chica!!!

Leave a Reply

