Recipe: Creamy Avocado Pasta

I win for lazy when it comes to cooking. Mostly because I’m often pressed for time since I work 9-5 and am at the gym every weeknight for an hour to two hours. Then, I come home, shower, eat real fast, care for the guinea pigs, care for my super old Betta fish then clean the apartment or catch up on my DVR only to pass out and rinse/repeat.

Therefore, the recipes I give you are going to be vegan-friendly while not too many ingredients and super simple/fast to make. Also, I would’ve taken a picture of my avocado pasta but … it looked like a glob of mess but was DELICIOUS. Even a non-vegan loved it.

INGREDIENTS:

1 Serving of Whole Wheat Pasta (2 oz. uncooked)
1/4 of an Avocado (more if you want)
1/2 a Tomato
1 Small Slice of Lime or Lemon (I prefer lime)
A few sprigs of Cilantro (optional)
1/8 Cup of Chopped Onions (optional)
1/8 Cup of Corn (optional)
Salt & Pepper to Taste
Red Pepper Flakes to Taste (if you want a little kick to it or use a little Jalapeno pepper)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Cook Pasta according to the directions on the box (boil water, add salt to the boiling water, cook pasta).
  2. Take the avocado, cut it into little pieces, smashing it with your fork in a bowl. Then chop up tomatoes and onions into small pieces. You can add more vegetables if you want (I’ve used green and red peppers also).  Chop up the cilantro also.
  3. Drain and add the pasta to the bowl with the avocado. Mix thoroughly to ensure all the pasta is covered in avocado. Add chopped onions, tomatoes, corn, cilantro, lime/lemon juice, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes as desired and mix also.

There you go, a simple recipe for creamy avocado pasta! Make more or less as needed. Sadly, you cannot reheat this as the avocado will go bad so this is a make it and eat it type of deal. I sometimes will make the pasta ahead of time, add some olive oil into it then store it to reheat then add avocados later.

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Creamy Avocado Pasta

  1. With a schedule like that, how on earth do you have time to blog? Anyway, I’m with you when it comes to cooking fast is best! This recipe does look easy, but also delicious. I’ll have to try it! Celeste 🙂

    • Usually during a lunch break at work! Easiest way! Or I’ll put aside an hour a week and put up a bunch of posts then just schedule them to be published at different times. 😉 Now you all know my secret!

      I hope you enjoy the recipe, if you try it out, tell me what you think!

  2. Pingback: Recipe Of The Week! | Sunset Daily

  3. Pingback: Kiwipress » Blog Archive Easy and delicious pasta recipes » Kiwipress

  4. Pingback: 24 Bloggers to Check Out! (and the Giveaway Winner) | Honk If You're Vegan

Leave a Reply

